July saw the trust’s first ever Governance Awards and Celebration Evening, an opportunity to thank all our wonderful governors and recognise those who have gone above and beyond to help their schools.2022 Governors Celebration Evening

The special event – held at Trinity Catholic College in Middlesbrough – enabled governors from all 27 of our schools to come together and get to know each other.

It began with a prayer and introduction from Bishop Terry, whose vision for Catholic education our governors work so hard to make a reality, followed by speech from chair of the board of directors, Joe Hughes.

The audience saw and heard about some of the outstanding work going on across all our schools as this year’s winners were revealed.

The formalities ended with a special video in which children from all our schools thanked governors in their own way before a reception and opportunity to mingle in Trinity’s superb new dining hall.

If you are interested in being one of our ‘volunteer army’, you might like to consider becoming a foundation governor. For further information, please speak to your parish priest or email [email protected].

Roll of honour

Link Governor of the Year Awards

Link Governor of the Year for Catholic Standards: Irene Lewis (St Thérèse of Lisieux) 

Link Governor of the Year for Quality of Education: Paul Benfield (St Bernadette’s  & Trinity)

Link Governor of the Year for Pupil Premium: Vanessa Housley (St Patrick’s Catholic College)

Link Governor of the Year for SEND: Kathryn Phelps (All Saints & St Mary’s)

Link Governor of the Year for Attendance & Safeguarding: Gary Wilson (St Patrick’s Primary)  

Link Governor of the Year for Careers: Amjid Khazir (Trinity) 

Link Governor of the Year for PE and Sports Premium: Glen Morgan (St Patrick’s) 

Link Governor of the Year for Behaviour and Attitudes: Mary Bilous (St Bernadette’s)

Special Recognition Awards

Local Governing Body Special Recognition Award: St Patrick’s Catholic College

Governor Special Recognition Award: John Shipley (St Clare’s and St Thérèse of Lisieux), Carol Walker (Trinity) and Jim Whiston (Sacred Heart Primary).

Tenure Awards

Paul Healy

David Nolan

Marie Duffield

Monsignor Gerard Robinson

Geraldine Howard

Paul Benfield

Mary Bilous

Geraldine Parker

Margaret Trevor

Eileen Smith

Teresa Lyth

Donald Lillistone

Peter Hawkins

Janet Stanwick

Vivienne Flynn

Sarah-Jane Smith

Elizabeth Henry

Maureen McLean

Francis Campbell

Valerie Mary Maughan

Mary Larkin

June Craven

Brenda Burns

Brian Coulston

Hilary Pegden

Laura Cuff

Daniel Corey

Carole Bennett

Catherine Lewis

Gary Wilson

Samantha Jane Forsyth

Margaret Rees

Patricia McBride

Canon Pat Hartnett